CODASPY 2017 Keynotes

Research Issues and Approaches for Connected and Automated Vehicles


Driverless and/or environment-friendly cars have recently received a great deal of attention from media and almost all industry and government sectors due mainly to their great potential impacts on safety, economy, and environments. In particular, enabling vehicles to communicate with one another via wireless devices holds the potential to automate vehicles while dramatically improving safety, reducing congestion, and conserving energy.

To move toward realization of this potential, we have been conducting research into various issues, including:

  • Automation of vehicle sensing and control;
  • Vehicle safety and passenger comfort;
  • Securing information communication and computation;
  • Developing environment-friendly solutions. 

In this talk, I will discuss various issues and approaches related to security of connected and automated vehicles. 


KANG G. SHIN is the Kevin & Nancy O'Connor Professor of Computer Science  in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, The University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. His current research focuses on QoS-sensitive computing  and networking as well as on embedded real-time and cyber-physical systems.

He has supervised the completion of 78 PhDs, and authored/coauthored more than 850 technical articles, one a textbook and more than 30 patents or invention disclosures, and received numerous best paper awards, including the Best Paper Awards from the 2011 ACM International Conference on Mobile Computing and Networking (MobiCom’11), the 2011 IEEE International Conference on Autonomic Computing, the 2010 and 2000 USENIX Annual Technical Conferences, as well as the 2003 IEEE Communications Society William R. Bennett Prize Paper Award and the 1987 Outstanding IEEE Transactions of Automatic Control Paper Award. He has also received several institutional awards, including the Research Excellence Award in 1989, Outstanding Achievement Award in 1999, Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award in 2001, and Stephen Attwood Award in 2004 from The University of Michigan (the highest honor bestowed to Michigan Engineering faculty); a Distinguished Alumni Award of the College of Engineering, Seoul National University in 2002; 2003 IEEE RTC Technical Achievement Award; and 2006 Ho-Am Prize in Engineering (the highest honor bestowed to Korean-origin engineers). 

He has chaired several major conferences, including 2009 ACM MobiCom, 2008 IEEE SECON, 2005 ACM/USENIX MobiSys, 2000 IEEE RTAS,  and 1987 IEEE RTSS. He is the fellow of both IEEE and ACM, and served on editorial boards, including IEEE TPDS and ACM Transactions on Embedded Systems. He has also served or is serving on numerous government committees, such as the US NSF Cyber-Physical Systems Executive Committee and  the Korean Government R&D Strategy Advisory Committee. He has also co-founded a couple of startups.