Maintained by:

Institute for         Cyber Security   UTSA

Call for Papers [PDF] [TXT]

3rd ACM Conference on Data and Application Security and Privacy

February 18-20, 2013
San Antonio, Texas, USA

Data and applications security and privacy has rapidly expanded as a research field with many important challenges to be addressed. The goal of the ACM Conference on Data and Applications Security (CODASPY) is to discuss novel, exciting research topics in data and application security and privacy and to lay out directions for further research and development in this area.

The conference seeks submissions from diverse communities, including corporate and academic researchers, open-source projects, standardization bodies, governments, system and security administrators, software engineers and application domain experts. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- Application-layer security policies
- Access control for applications
- Access control for databases
- Data-dissemination controls
- Data forensics
- Enforcement-layer security policies
- Privacy-preserving techniques
- Private information retrieval
- Search on protected/encrypted data
- Secure auditing
- Secure collaboration
- Secure data provenance
- Secure electronic commerce
- Secure information sharing
- Secure knowledge management
- Secure multiparty computations
- Secure software development
- Securing data/apps on untrusted platforms
- Securing the semantic web
- Security and privacy in GIS/spatial data
- Security and privacy in healthcare
- Security policies for databases
- Social computing security and privacy
- Social networking security and privacy
- Trust metrics for applications, data, and users
- Usable security and privacy
- Web application security


Submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal, conference or workshop. Simultaneous submission of the same work is not allowed.

Submissions must be at most 10 pages in double-column ACM format (as specified at excluding the bibliography and well-marked appendices, and at most 12 pages overall. Submissions must be anonymized and avoid obvious self-references. Only PDF files will be accepted. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. Submissions should be made electronically at:

Submissions that are not accepted as full papers may be invited to appear as short papers or posters.


The CODASPY 2013 posters track seeks to quickly disseminate novel, on-going security and privacy research at an initial stage. Poster submissions must include a three-page poster paper and a one-page slide with the poster contents (submitted as attachment) , both as PDF files. Poster papers should use the same format as full-length papers.  Accepted poster papers will be included in the posters section of the conference proceedings. Submissions should be made electronically at:


Paper registration:                                    Fri, 31 Aug 2012 Fri, 07 Sep 2012 (11:59PM EST)
Paper submission:                                    Fri, 7 Sep 2012 Fri, 14 Sep 2012 (11:59PM EST)
Poster submission:                                   Fri, 21 Sep 2012 Fri, 28 Sep 2012 (11:59PM EST)
Notification to authors:                              Mon, 19 Nov 2012
Camera-ready papers and posters:          Wed, 19 Dec 2012


General Chairs:

Elisa Bertino
Center for Education and Research in Information Assurance and Security (CERIAS), Purdue University
Ravi Sandhu
Institute for Cyber Security (ICS), University of Texas at San Antonio

Technical Program Committee:

Gail-Joon Ahn, Arizona State University
Lujo Bauer, Carnegie Mellon University (chair)
William Enck, North Carolina State University
Elena Ferrari, University of Insubria
Philip Fong, University of Calgary
Debin Gao, Singapore Management University
Gabriel Ghinita, University of Massachusetts Boston
Carl Gunter, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Günter Karjoth, IBM Research Zurich
Yongdae Kim, KAIST
Adam J. Lee, University of Pittsburgh
Ninghui Li, Purdue University
Peng Liu, Pennsylvania State University
Z. Morley Mao, University of Michigan
Fabio Martinelli, National Research Council of Italy
Jae Park, University of Texas at San Antonio
Günther Pernul, University of Regensburg
Alexander Pretschner, Technische Universität München
Mike Reiter, UNC Chapel Hill
Ahmad-Reza Sadeghi, Technical University Darmstadt
Elaine Shi, University of Maryland College Park
Mahesh Tripunitara, University of Waterloo
Jaideep Vaidya, Rutgers University
Danfeng Yao, Virginia Tech

Posters Committee:

Gabriel Ghinita, University of Massachusetts Boston (chair)
Ali Inan, Isik University
Ram Krishnan, University of Texas at San Antonio
Nabeel Mohamed, Purdue University
Ian Molloy, IBM TJ Watson
Roland Yap, National University of Singapore