Maintained by:

Institute for         Cyber Security   UTSA


ACM SIGSAC announces the continuation of its recently launched annual ACM Conference on Data and Applications Security.  The fifth conference will be held March 2-4, 2015 in Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX.


With rapid global penetration of the Internet and smart phones and the resulting productivity and social gains, the world is becoming increasingly dependent on its cyber infrastructure. Criminals, spies and predators of all kinds have learned to exploit this landscape much quicker than defenders have advanced in their technologies. Security and Privacy has become an essential concern of applications and systems throughout their lifecycle. Security concerns have rapidly moved up the software stack as the Internet and web have matured. The security, privacy, functionality, cost and usability tradeoffs necessary in any practical system can only be effectively achieved at the data and application layers. This new conference provides a dedicated venue for high-quality research in this arena, and seeks to foster a community with this focus in cyber security.


Best Paper Award

"Tunably-Oblivious Memory: Generalizing ORAM to Enable Privacy-Efficiency Tradeoffs"
Jonathan Dautrich (University of California, Riverside); Chinya Ravishankar (University of California, Riverside)

Outstanding Paper Awards

"DBMask: Fine-Grained Access Control on Encrypted Relational Databases"
Muhammad Ihsanulhaq Sarfraz (Purdue University); Mohamed Nabeel (Oracle); Jianneng Cao (Purdue University); Elisa Bertino (Purdue University)

"SemaDroid: A Privacy-Aware Sensor Management Framework for Smartphones"
Zhi Xu (Pennsylvania State University); Sencun Zhu (Pennsylvania State University)

Best paper award committee

Adam Lee
James Joshi
Alexander Prestchner

Best Poster award

"Rapid Screening of Transformed Data Leaks with Efficient Algorithms and Parallel Computing”
Xiaokui Shu (Virginia Tech), Jing Zhang (Virginia Tech), Danfeng Yao (Virginia Tech), Wu-Chun Feng (Virginia Tech)

Outstanding Poster Awards

“Practical Exploit Generation for Intent Message Vulnerabilities in Android”
Daniele Gallingani (University of Illinois at Chicago & Politecnico di Milano), Rigel Gjomemo (University of Illinois at Chicago), V. N. Venkatakrishnan (University of Illinois at Chicago), Stefano Zanero (Politecnico di Milano)

"Information Sharing and User Privacy in the Third-party Identity Management Landscape”
Anna Vapen (Linköping University), Niklas Carlsson (Linköping University), Anirban Mahanti (NICTA), Nahid Shahmehri (Linköping University)