Latifur Khan (Moderator)
Professor, UT Dallas

Short Bio

Dr. Latifur Khan is currently a full Professor (tenured) in the Computer Science department at The University of Texas at Dallas, USA where he has been teaching and conducting research since September 2000. He received his Ph.D. degree in Computer Science from the University of Southern California (USC) in August of 2000.

Dr. Khan is an ACM Distinguished Scientist and received the Fellow of SIRI (Society of Information Reuse and Integration) award in 2018. He has received other prestigious awards including the IEEE Technical Achievement Award for Intelligence and Security Informatics and the IBM Faculty Award (research) 2016.

Dr. Latifur Khan has published over 250 papers in premier journals and in prestigious conferences. In addition, he has conducted tutorial sessions in prominent conferences such as SIGKDD 2017, 2016, IJCAI 2017, AAAI 2017, SDM 2017, PAKDD 2011 & 2012, DASFAA 2012, ACM WWW 2005, MIS2005, and DASFAA 2007.

Rakesh Verma
Professor, University of Houston

Short Bio

Rakesh Verma is a Professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Houston (UH), an ACM Distinguished Speaker (2011-2018) and a Fulbright Senior Specialist (2018-2021) in computer science. Verma's expertise is in the area of Security Analytics, Formal Methods and Natural Language Processing, as reflected in his research on phishing, protocol verification, authorship attribution, summarization/question answering, equational logic programming, and malware clustering. He has authored/co-authored over 100 peer-reviewed publications and is on the editorial board of Frontiers in Big Data. He received the 2013 Lifetime Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award from UH and two Best Paper Awards in 2016 and 2019.

Cuneyt Akcora
Postdoctoral Fellow, UT Dallas

Short Bio

Dr. Cuneyt Gurcan Akcora is a Postdoctoral Fellow in the Departments of Computer Science and Statistics at The University of Texas at Dallas. He received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from Universita Degli Studi Dell’Insubria, Italy and his Master’s degree from SUNY Buffalo, NY, USA. His research interests are non-parametric Statistics, Data Science on complex networks and large-scale graph analysis, with applications in social, biological, IoT and Blockchain networks. He is a Fulbright Scholarship recipient, and his research works have been published in leading conferences and journals including VLDB, ICDM and ICDE.

Anoop Singhal
Senior Computer Scientist, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Short Bio

Dr. Anoop Singhal, is currently a Senior Computer Scientist and a Program Manager in the Computer Security Division at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in Gaithersburg, MD. He has several years of research experience at NIST, George Mason University and AT&T Bell Labs. He received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio. His research interests are in system security, active cyber defense, network forensics, cloud computing security and data mining systems. He is a member of ACM, senior member of the IEEE and he has co-authored over 50 technical papers in leading conferences and journals. He has taught several graduate level courses in Computer Science as an adjunct faculty and given talks at RSA, IEEE and ACM conferences. He has two patents in the area of attack graphs and he has also co-edited a book on Secure Cloud Computing and Network Security Metrics.

Hongxin Hu
Assistant Professor, Clemson University

Short Bio

Hongxin Hu is an Assistant Professor and Dean's faculty fellow of computer science in the School of Computing at Clemson University. His research interests centrally focus on the area of computer security and privacy. He has recently been working on IoT security and application of machine learning in security and privacy. He has led multiple cross-university, cross-disciplinary projects funded by NSF. He received the NSF CAREER Award in 2019. He is the recipient of the Best Paper Awards from ACM SIGCSE 2018 and ACM CODASPY 2014, and the Best Paper Award Honorable Mentions from ACM SACMAT 2016, IEEE ICNP 2015, and ACM SACMAT 2011. His research has won the First Place in ACM SIGCOMM 2018 SRC. His research has also been featured by the IEEE Special Technical Community on Social Networking and received wide press coverage including ACM TechNews, InformationWeek, Slashdot, etc.